The Sri Vidya

sri yantra

Sri Vidya, a.k.a Tripurasundari – Sampradaya No. 9 Deity: Tripurasundari, a.k.a. Lalita Tripurasundari (a.k.a. Lalita) Visualization:young and beautiful, red, four-armed, with goad, noose, sugarcane bow and flower arrows and seated above the lower gods Brahma, Visnu, Rudra and Isvara, on the […]

Continue reading »

The Tantric Roots of Hatha Yoga

hatha yoga

The Early Origins of Modern Yoga Yoga, as we think of it today, is a modern creation. It is not extended far back into the annals of time and Indian history as is often supposed. In fact, yoga as the […]

Continue reading »

The Five States of Awareness

4th state

As you might imagine in a spiritual culture so preoccupied with the nature of consciousness, attention is given to the various states of awareness that each of us moves through every day: waking, dreaming, deep sleep, and so on. Of […]

Continue reading »

The Four Levels of the Word

Vak: The Four Levels of the Word The form in which the highest divinity is worshipped in some schools of NST (the Trika) is the Goddess Paravak, the “Supreme Word,” or simply Para. Para is the tantric equivalent of the […]

Continue reading »

The 7 Perceivers or Levels of Consciousness

The Seven Perceivers The root-text of the Trika school, The Final Triumph of the Phonemic Goddess (Mālinī-vijaya-uttara-tantra) presents a teaching on the seven types of sentient beings, the sapta-pramatrs, which are mirrored within each one of us as the seven […]

Continue reading »

Abhasa Theory

Abhasa Theory: The State of “External” Objects Investigating how the Act of Creation unfolds within us will take us on a little journey. In order to understand how an object of awareness manifests, we must understand the relation between the […]

Continue reading »

The European Representation of Yoga

Here I will briefly consider some early representations of yogins by European visitors to India, before going on to examine their status in European scholarship of the late nineteenth century. I then consider the important early modern hatha yoga translations […]

Continue reading »

Sexuality in the Tantric Sources

Around the 10th century, there was a reformation involving a shift away from earlier forms of practice which had involved cremation ground-based asceticism featuring the use of blood sacrifice and alcohol a means to feeding and satisfying a host of […]

Continue reading »

Patanjali’s Yoga System

The text that is often considered to be the most significant in the yoga tradition is Patanjali’s Yoga Sutra. This text, composed sometime between 100 BCE and 500 CE, contains pithy aphorisms on classical yoga, called the ‘eight-limbed’ (astanga) or […]

Continue reading »
1 2